brilliant Shujaat Khan‘Sangeet Mahotsav’

The ‘Gururao Deshpande Sangeet Mahotsav 2012’ will be held on January 21, 9 pm at Gymkhana Indoor Stadium, IISc, Yeshwantpur. It is an all-night festival. On the occasion, ‘Gururao Deshpande Rashtriya Sangeet Puraskar’ will be conferred on Pandit Hariprasad Chaurasia. The performing artistes are Hariprasad Chaurasia (flute), Vinayak Torvi (vocal), Shruti Sadolikar (vocal), Ram Deshpande (vocal), Ramani Shankar and Kasturi Atrawalkar.

‘Sur Taal’

Sur Taal, a music concert, will be held on January 21, 7 pm at the UB City Amphitheatre. It will feature an evening of world music featuring the Grammy award-winning percussionist Trilok Gurtu from Germany, accompanied by Ravi Chari on the sitar. The opening act is by the band ‘Rhythm & Raaga’. Trilok Gurtu is an open-minded musician who embraces jazz, Indian classical music, abstract improvisation and Asian pop. He is a percussion virtuoso and an entertainer. His work blends the music of his homeland with jazz fusion, world music and other genres.

Vocal delight

A vocal concert by Priyanka Prakash, called Demystifying Raagam, Taanam, Pallavi, will be held on January 24, 6.30 pm at Bangalore International Centre, Teri Complex, 4th Main, 2nd Cross, Domlur II Stage. She will be accompanied by Vittal Rangan on violin and Raghunath Rajaram on mridangam. Priyanka is a disciple of Neela Ramgopal. For details, call 9886599675.

Soulful notes

A musical event, ‘Remembering Jagjit Singh’, will be held January 21, 6.30 pm at Jnana Jyoti Convention Centre, Bangalore University Campus, Palace Road. The performers are Anup Jalota, Deepak Pandit, Abhinav Upadhyay, Sushanth Sharma, Devender Rajbhat, Lalit Shankar, Amit Chaubey, Dhiren Raichuria. For telebooking, call 9845447130 or 9845172749.

Pleasant treat

Indiranagar Sangeetha Sabha is holding the ‘Annual Music and Dance Festival’ from January 21 to 26 at Purandara Bhavana, 8th Main Road, HAL Second Stage. The Purandara Award function will also be held on the occasion.

Carnatic notes

Music Circle, Chandra Layout, is presenting a Carnatic vocal music concert by Sandeep Narayan, a disciple of  Sanjay Subramaniam, on January 22, 6.15 pm at No. 12, Basaveshwara HBCS, 7th Cross, 2nd Main, Chandra Layout. He will be accompanied by Nalina Mohan on violin and M A Krishnamurthy on mridangam.

Right pitch

Ananya is organising a vocal duet by Nagavalli Nagaraj and Ranjani Nagaraj, accompanied by T G Tyagarajan (violin) and C Cheluvuraju (mridangam), on January 20, 6.30 pm at Ananya Sabhangana, 91/2, 4th Main, Malleswaram.


Nadajyothi Sri Thyagaraja Swamy Bhajana Sabha, in association with Malleswaram Aryavaishya Sangha, will be organising the ‘47th Nadajyothi Music Festival 2012’ from January 21 to 29 at R P Ravishankar Sabhangana, Sri Kanyaka Parameshwari Temple, 8th Cross, Malleswaram. As part of the festival, concerts by Lalgudi G J R Krishnan, Vijayalakshmi, R K Srikantan, Bharathi Pratap, Thirumale Srinivas and Sangeetha Srinivas will be held everyday from 6.30 pm. Entry is free.

Fusion concert

‘Spinifex Orchestra’ (Netherlands) and Dr Suma Sudhindra’s ‘Veena Ensemble’ will present a grand fusion concert of Western jazz and Carnatic classical music on January 19, 7 pm at Alliance Française. This unique musical collaboration will bring out the best of Carnatic music and Dutch jazz. Expressive improvisations, thrilling rhythms are woven together with classy instrumentations and rich compositions of ‘Spinifex’ and Suma

Masters’ splendour

Banyan Tree is organising the third edition of ‘Splendor Of Masters’ on January 26, 6.30 pm at Chowdiah Hall. A specially designed festival, it will feature great musicians who share brilliant chemistry and perfect synergy. Those who will perfrom this year are Ustad Shujaat Khan (sitar - Hindustani) with Grammy-award winner Vidwan Vikku Vinayakram (ghatam - Carnatic) Ganesh-Kumaresh (violin - Carnatic) and George Brooks (saxophone- jazz and new age) along with Patri Satish on mridangam, Amit Choubey on tabla and Ojus Adhiya on percussion.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0