New Andhra ministers get portfolios

New Andhra ministers get portfolios

The deadlock over portfolios to the two new cabinet ministers in Andhra Pradesh was resolved Friday after the erstwhile Praja Rajyam Party (PRP) agreed to accept what the Congress offered.

C. Ramachandraiah has been given endowments portfolio while G. Srinivasa Rao will look after infrastructure, ports and investment.

The two PRP legislators were Thursday inducted into the cabinet but the allocation of portfolios was delayed due to the stalemate between Congress and PRP leaders.

Actor-turned-politician K. Chiranjeevi, who merged his PRP with the Congress last year, insisted on energy and commercial taxes portfolios, which are currently held by Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy.

However, he softened his stand Friday and asked the two ministers to accept the portfolios allocated by the chief minister.

The Congress has reportedly assured him that the PRP ministers would be given "suitable portfolios" in the next reshuffle.

The departments allocated to the two new ministers were earlier held by J. Krishna Rao and K. Venkatareddy, both of whom resigned last year to protest the delay in carving out separate Telangana state.