Karnataka sign off unbeaten to grab title

Karnataka sign off unbeaten to grab title

Karnataka claimed the PS Ram Mohan Rao trophy by maintaining a clean slate in the six-team South Zone U-25 limited overs cricket tournament here on Wednesday.

Karnataka, with a final tally of 22 points, defeated Andhra by 30 runs in the fifth and final match. The highlights were a run-a-ball unbeaten century by Karun Nair (121, 121b; 9x4, 1x6), K Gautham (3/38) and Shreyas Gopal (3/43), the bowlers combining in dismissing Andhra for 239 in 48.5 overs in reply to their team’s 269 for nine.

In the other two matches, Kerala defeated Goa by 59 runs, while Tamil Nadu achieved a 10-wicket win over Hyderabad. Tamil Nadu, who lost two matches in the earlier rounds, were helped by the openers, R Rohit and V Maaruthi Rao, who scored a century each.
R Rohit scored 125 not out (112b; 15x4, 1x6), while left handed V Maaruthi Raghav batted well for his unbeaten 100 (103b; 10x4).

Riding on half-centuries from Sachin Mohan and PM Jineesh, Kerala notched up 284/8 in their 50 overs before bowling out Goa for 225 in 43 overs.

Brief scores: Karnataka: 269/9 in 50 overs (Karun Nair 121 n.o., Mayank Agarwal 33, Nikhil Kashyap 26; Arunkumar Reddy 2-43, B Sudhakar 2-56) bt Andhra: 239 all out in 48.5 Overs (KS Bharath 68, M Ajaykumar 50, SH Srinivas 25; K Gautham 3-38, Shreyas Gopal 3-43).

Kerala: 284/8 in 50 overs (Sachin Mohan 58, PM Jineesh 79, Kevin Oscar 47 n.o.; Tejas Wagle 3-35, Yogesh Borde 2-44) bt Goa: 225 all out in 43 overs (Amoge Desai 91, Rajsekhar Harikant 33 n.o.; Sachin Mohan 4-27, Vinoop Manoharan 2-23).

Hyderabad: 227/9 in 50 overs  (J Anshul 30, V Sandeep 33, EV Sundeep Rajan 47, Ilyas Zubaidi 54; Prashant K Varma 3-43) lt to Tamil Nadu: 231 for no loss in 35.4 overs (R Rohit 125 n.o., V Maaruthi Raghav 100 n.o.).

Final Standings: Karnataka (22 points) 1; Kerala (12 points) 2, Tamil Nadu (9 points) 3; Goa (8 points) 4; Hyderabad (6 points) 5; Andhra Pradesh (3 points) 6.