Canara Bank face RWF in final clash

Canara Bank face RWF in final clash

Bankmen down Central Excise in last league tie

Canara Bank will lock horns with Rail Wheel Factory Sports Association in the day-night final of the Dell-KSCA Group II Division I Super League tournament at the Chinnaswamy stadium on Wednesday.

In their final league matches, Canara Bank crushed Central Excise and Customs by ten wickets, while RWF overpowered DTDC Sports Club by 144 runs.

Canara Bank, whose only loss in the six-team league came at the hands of DTDC, finished on top with eight points, while RWF were involved in a three-way tie for the second spot with State Bank of Mysore and Vijaya Bank. RWF made it through to the final by virtue of having a superior net run rate.

Medium-pacer Mansoor Ali Khan took three for 31 and offie C Raghu finished with excellent figures of four for seven as Canara shot Excise out for just 124 in 16.2 overs, Excise clearly also playing with an eye on the run rate as emphasised by K Gautham’s blistering 51 (25b, 9x4, 1x6). Canara raced to their target without loss in just the 12th over.

In the other game, R Johanthan’s 137 (118b, 19x4, 4x6) was the highlight of RWF’s comfortable win over DTDC. RWF piled up 328 for nine from their 50 overs and rolled DTDC over for 184, CK Akshay and M Nagaraj picking up three wickets apiece.

Brief scores: Central Excise & Customs: 124 all out in 16.2 overs (K Gautham 51; Mansoor Ali Khan 3-31, C Raghu 4-7) lt to Canara Bank: 125/0 in 11.1 overs (KB Pawan 62 n.o., Rahul Bhatkal 50 n.o.).

Rail Wheel Factory Sports Association: 328/9 in 50 overs (R Jonathan 137, Manjesh Reddy 45, Shoaib Manager 31, K Yere Goud 45; SK Moinuddin 3-69, Hardik Munoth 3-62) bt DTDC Sports Club: 184 all out in 40 overs (S Vinodh 37, Shoain 44; CK Akshay 3-38, M Nagaraj 3-28).

Ilyas, Varun star

Ilyas Khan’s five-wicket haul and Varun Bhatta’s unbeaten hundred powered Bangalore United Cricket Club (2) to a facile nine-wicket win over Modern Cricketers in the Dell-KSCA Group I, Division V league for the JB Mallaradhya Trophy. Ilyas scalped five for 33 as BUCC restricted Modern to what appeared a competitive 213 all out in 46.2 overs.   BUCC, however, made short work of their target.
Brief scores: Modern Cricketers: 213 all out in 46.2 overs (Manu Pasha 60, Vijay G 52, Uma Shankar 29; Manooj 2-23, Ilyas Khan 5-33) lt to Bangalore United CC (2): 216/1 in 37.1 overs (Varun Bhatta 104 n.o., Sharath Srinivas 88 n.o.).

Head Quarters CC: 89 all out in 30.2 overs (K Muralidhar 2-14, Abubakar Rehman 5-11) lt to Merchants Cricket Club (2): 92/2 in 17.1 overs (Shafaiz 26, Shabaz 33 n.o.; Hari 2-26).
St Joseph’s College: 87 all out in 29.3 overs (Suresh Shinde 2-16, Manish Jadeja 4-20, Om Prakash 2-16) lt to Spartons Sports Club: 91/4 in 13.2 overs (Aniruddha AM 52; Rajath 2-46).
Blaze Cricket Club: 124 all out in 33.4 overs (Harish Kumar M 36; R Manjunath 4-15, KL Guruprasad 3-20) lt to Magadi Cricket Club, Magadi: 125/2 in 17 overs (PC Venkatesh 44, R Raghavendra 55 n.o.).