Cottons set up summit clash with Josephites

Cottons set up summit clash with Josephites

Bishop Cotton Boys’ School will lock horns with St Joseph’s Indian High School in the two-day final of the Dell-KSCA BT Ramaiah Shield under-14 Division I cricket tournament.

While Cottons defeated Frank Anthony Public School by virtue of their slender 11-run first-innings lead, SJIHS ran out commanding victors by an innings and 73 runs against Holy Saint English School.

Sanath Naik did the star turn for SJIHS, finishing with match figures of ten for 46 and chipping in with 41 with the bat as well. His spell of five for 22 in the first innings kept Holy Saint down to 139 despite a quickfire half-century from Shashvath N (60, 76b, 10x4).

SJIHS replied with 288 for a lead of 149, Vinay N Sagar top-scoring with 91 (89b, 9x4) and Sudarshan SH contributing 72 (124b, 10x4).

Faced with a daunting task, Holy Saint fared even worse in their second essay, being shot out for 76 with Sanath picking up five for 24 and S Shashi (3/21) playing a good supporting role.

In the other semifinal, FAPS had their moments but Cottons held their nerve at the crunch to defend a modest 191 and eke out an 11-run advantage.

Kushal P, with a four for 50 haul, caused most of the damage to FAPS’s innings.

The two-day title clash will be played at the RSI grounds from Thursday.

Brief scores: Holy Saint English School: 139 all out in 54.4 overs (Shashvath N 60; Vishnu Jain 2-35, Vinay N Sagar 2-26, Sanath Naik 5-22) and 76 all out in 25.1 overs (S Shashi 3-21, Sanath Naik 5-24) lt to St Joseph’s Indian High School: 288 all out in 59.2 overs (Karan CH 48, Sanath Naik 41, Sudarshan SH 72, Vinay N Sagar 91; Shashvath N 2-70, Aditya AV 3-95, Akash M 4-12).
Bishop Cotton Boys’ School: 191 all out in 82.3 overs (Chirag Jagdish 40, CR Aiyappa 28; Aditya Garg 4-42, Anchit Aiyappa 2-43) and 149/4 in 40 overs (P Kushal 26, Kanishka S 48 n.o., Aiyappa CR 35 n.o.; Anchit Aiyappa 2-42, Aditya Garg 2-39) drew Frank Anthony Public School: 180 all out in 80.3 overs (P Rishiketh 40, Ganapathy BC 27; Kushal P 4-50, CR Aiyappa 2-52). Cottons advance on first-innings lead.