Suresh scrambles past Chaukalkar

Second seed Suresh Krishna of Andhra Pradesh survived a scare before downing qualifier Tejas Chaukalkar to enter the quarterfinals of the Indian Jute-AITA National grass court tennis tournament here at South Club on Wednesday.

In the women’s singles, it was a day of upsets as three seeded players crashed out on the third day of the tournament.

Top seed Saketh Myneni continued his good show as he outclassed Maharashtra’s Ronak Manuja 6-3, 6-2 to storm into the last eight.

In the women’s singles, qualifier Nupur Kaul of Delhi continued her dream run as she ousted fifth seed Shweta Rana 6-4, 6-3. The other seeded players who were shown the door were Delhi’s Garima Vatwani (6) and Nehael Sahni (8).

Garima retired hurt leading 6-5 in first set against Vaniya Dangwal while Nehael was outclassed 2-6, 4-6 by Tamil Nadu qualifier Sansitha Nandkumar.

Hosts’ Amrita Mukherjee had an easy day in the office, dropping just one game in her 6-0, 6-1 thumping of Karnataka’s Smriti Joon, while Tamil Nadu Rushmi Chakravarthi ousted Indian Air Force’s Rani Smita Jain 6-0, 6-2.

Results: Men’s singles: Saketh Myneni (AP) b Ronak Manuja (Mah) 6-3, 6-2; Mohit Mayur Jayaprakash (TN) bt Abhijeet Tiwari (CG) 6-1, 6-4; Saurav Sukul (WB) bt Adit Jain (Del) 6-3, 6-2; Nitten Kirrtane (Mah) bt Arpit Sharma (Del) 6-2, 7-6 (7-2); Vijay Kannan (TN) bt Vinod Gowda (Kar) 6-3, 7-6 (7-5); Vignesh Pernamallur (AP) bt Siddharth Rawat (Del) 6-3, 6-4; Shawbaaz Khan (Mah) bt Yogesh Phoghat (Del) 6-3, 5-7, 7-6 (7-2); Suresh Krishna (AP) bt Tejas Chaukalkar (Mah) 3-6, 6-3, 7-5.

Women’s singles: Amrita Mukherjee (WB) bt Smriti Joon (Kar) 6-0, 6-1; Vaniya Dangwal (Del) bt Garima Vatwani (Del) 5-6 (retd); Rushmi Chakravarthi (TN) bt Rani Smita Jain (IAF) 6-0, 6-2; Treta Bhattacharya (WB) bt Manya Nagpal (Del) 6-2, 6-1; Nupur Kaul (Del) bt Shweta Rana (Del) 6-4, 6-3; Pedi Reddy S Vaishnavi (AP) bt Arantxa Andrady (Del) 6-1 (retd); Sansitha Nandkumar (TN) bt Nehel Sahni (Del) 6-2, 6-4; Ankita Raina (Guj) bt Sahan Shetty (Kar) 6-2, 6-2.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0