Aditya, Jacqueline triumph

Aditya, Jacqueline triumph

Badminton: State Championship

Victorious: Aditya R Prakash (left) and Jacqueline Rose Kunnath won the men’s and women’s titles respectively in the State badminton championship on Monday. DH photo

Aditya secured a hard fought 15-21, 21-7, 21-12 victory over a gritty Krishna to clinch the title. Aditya, who lost the first game at 15-21, bagged the second pretty easily. He gave away just seven points while taking the match to the decider.

Aditya gave no chance to Krishna in the deciding third game as he wrapped the game at 21-12 for the crown. Aditya had taken a similar route to the final, edging past Mohit Kamath 18-21, 21-14, 21-9 in the semis, while Krishna crushed Rohan Castellino 21-10, 21-11.

Jacqueline Rose Kunnath outclassed G M Nischitha 21-12, 21-16 to pocket the women’s title. There was some consolation for Krishna when he teamed up with Ajit Wiketilekk to clinch the doubles crown with a come from behind 15-21, 21-17, 21-12 victory over D Guruprasad and Vineeth Manuel.

Guruprasad made amends as he joined hands with Saumya Padhye to grab the mixed doubles title in further heartbreak for Nischitha. Nischitha and MD Anupkiran went down tamely 18-21, 13-21.

Results (all finals):
Men: Aditya R Prakash bt SDS Krishna 15-21, 21-7, 21-12.
(Semifinals): SDS Krishna bt Rohan Castellino 21-10, 21-11; Aditya Prakash bt Mohit Kamath 18-21, 21-14, 21-9.
Doubles: SDS Krishna / Ajit Wijetilekk bt Guruprasad/ Vineeth Manuel 15-21, 21-17, 21-12.

Veterans: Jayaram Pai bt K P Vasanth Kumar 10-21, 21-15, 21-17. Doubles: K P Vasanth Kumar/ Jayaram Pai bt S K B Naidu/ P R Harish 21-18, 21-12.
Women: Jacqueline Rose Kunnath bt G M Nischitha 21-12, 21-16.  (Semifinals): Nishchitha bt Monisha Vinayak 20-22, 21-12, 21-16; Jacqueline bt Saumya Padhya 12-21, 21-10, 21-18.

Mixed doubles: Saumya Padhye/ D Guruprasad bt G M Nischitha/ M D Anupkiran 21-18, 21-13.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily