Army Green emerge champs

Army Green emerge champs

 Army Green dethroned defending champions MEG ‘A’ 4-0 to clinch the Field Marshall Cariappa Memorial hockey title at the KSHA stadium on Sunday.

CHAMPS Army Green, winners of the Field Marshall Cariappa memorial hockey tournament on Sunday. STANDING (from left): Binoy, Arun, Birsu, Gabriel, Balwinder, P Kumar (coach), Dhanraj (physio), Deepak, Arun Kumar, Roman, Julien, Shyam. SQUATTING: Jyoti, Hemlet, Neeraj Tikka, Lee John, Anup, Holendro, Johnny, Runner Singh. DH PHOTO

The Army outfit scored through Roman (20th), Hemlet (31st), Gabriel (36th) and Binoy (57th) as they reduced the summit clash to a tame, one-sided affair.

The game started with both teams appearing rusty and struggling to keep possession.

However, Army soon got into their groove, opening their account in the 20th minute when Roman latched on to a short pass from Balwinder to slot the ball home.  An alert Hemlet then doubled the lead in the 31st minute, converting a penalty corner with an opportunistic tap-in after the ball rebounded off MEG custodian Dhanish.  Up 2-0 at half-time, it was always going to be an uphill task for the holders, and so it turned out to be. A minute after the break, Gabriel converted Army’s fifth penalty corner with a powerful flick that went past Dhanish in a flash.

Binoy then struck the goal of the match in the 57th minute firing a powerful shot after dodging a couple of defenders on a solo run from the right.

Final result: Army Green: 4 (Roman 20th, Hemlet 31st, Gabriel 36th, Binoy 57th) bt MEG ‘A’: 0.