Parikshit shines in SJCE's facile win

Excellent batting by N Parikshith (91 n.o), and Prajwal (61),  helped Sri Jayachamarjendra College of Engineering, Mysore to register a facile seven wicket win over Vidya Vardhaka First Grade College, Mysore and sail into the quarter-finals of the Dell-KSCA inter-collegiate knock-out cricket tournament tie played at Maharaja’s College grounds here on Tuesday.

NIE IT’s Siddesh clean bowled by Yuvaraja’s college’s Somashekar at the Dell-KSCA Dell-KSCA inter-collegiate knock-out cricket tournament at Maharaja’s College grounds here on  Tuesday. DH Photo

Winning the toss and electing to bat, VVFGC were restricted to 185 for seven in 30 over by SJCE’s bowlers. Skipper  N. Ganesh played a responsible innings by scoring a valuable 77 (12x4s, 2x6s). Goutham (21) was the other useful contributor.

In reply, SJCE were aided by inspiring knocks by Prajwal (61, 5x4s) and N Parikshith  91 not out (12x4s, 3x6s), and scored 190 for three in 23.1 overs.

In another tie, National Institute of Engineering, Mysore registered a big eight-wicket win over Maharaja’s College, Mysore. Put into bat, Maharaja’s College were bowled out for 129 in 25.2 overs. Skipper S Rajath (43, 7x4s) was the lone contributor. Off-spinners Suhas B Shekar (four for 15) and skipper Praful (three for 28) impressed with the ball for NIE.

In reply, NIE scored 131 for two in 18 overs, with opener Sushek Shekar scoring a well compiled 65 (12x4s) and A M Aniruddha (25) was the other contributor.

TTL College, Mysore registered a facile six-wicket win over JSS College Ooty Road at Gangothri grounds. Batting first, JSS, Ooty Road were bowled out for 140 in 28.2 overs. Narendra top scored with 47 runs. Left-arm spinner J Suchith impressed with four for 40.

In reply, TTL, Mysore scored 141 for four in 19 overs. Uttam Raj top scored with 58 runs. Madan remained not out with 38. Rohith Tiwari scored 22 runs.

In the other pre-quarterfinal games, SBRR Mahajana FGC scored a five-wicket win over JSS Dental College while PES (Mandya) scored a eight-wicket win over GFGC, Chamarajanagar and Yuvaraja’s College, Mysore posted a 114-run win over NIE (IT).


Pre-quarterfinals:  Vidya Vardhaka FGC 185 for seven in 30 overs (N. Ganesh 77, Goutham 27, Prateek two for 21, P. Manoj two for 23, Parikshith N two for 30) lost to SJCE, Mysore 190 for three in 23.1 overs ( Prajwal 61, Parikshith N 91 n.o, N. Ganesh two for 22).

Maharaja’s College 129 in 25.2 overs ( S.Rajath 43, Suhas B Shekar four for 18, Praful three for 28) lost to National Institute of Engineering, Mysore 131 for two in 18 overs (Sushek Shekar 65, A M Aniruddha 25).

JSS Ooty Road, Mysore 140 in 28.2 overs ( Narendra 47, Manjesh 29, J. Suchith four for 40, Uttam Raj two for 22, Md. Salauddin two for 19) lost to TTL College, Mysore 141 for four in 19 overs (Uttam Raj 58, Madan 39 n.o, Rohith Tiwari 22, Madhuchandra two for 36).

GFGC, Chamarajanagar 78 in 19 overs (A M  Kiran three for eight, B V  Chetan three for 11, K. Dilip two for two) lost to PES (Mandya) 79 for two in 9 overs (H.S. Sharath 30 n.o, Ram Prasad 29 n.o., Yeshwanth two for 20).

JSS Dental College 129 in 27 overs ( Sathyendra 33, Gourav 22, Goutham four for 30, Shashidhara three for 21) lost to SBRR Mahajana FGC 131 for five in 21.2 overs ( Yeshwanth 24, Shashidhar 22 n.o, Vijeth 21, Sanjeed four for 33).

Yuvaraja’s College, Mysore  174 for six in 30 overs (P Prajwal 52, Ravi Kiran 38, Vishu 30, Shrisha Raj three for 41, Venkat two for 15) bt NIE (IT) 60 in 14 overs (Srisharaj 20, H S Prajwal four for five, Somaraj two for 27, Manoj two for one).

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0