Hyderabad ride on Teja show

Hyderabad ride on Teja show

Skipper DB Ravi Teja produced a fine all-round performance while T Suman struck a belligerent century as Hyderabad defeated Tamil Nadu by 36 runs to make it to the all-India one-day tournament for the Vijay Hazare Trophy here at RSI ground on Sunday.

In a must-win situation, Hyderabad put up their best performance of the tournament to upset Tamil Nadu and qualify for the knockouts along with Karnataka, who lifted the Subbaiah Pillai Trophy after topping the six-team tournament with 18 points. Hyderabad finished with 16 points as against Tamil Nadu’s 14.

After opting to bat first, Suman led Hyderabad’s charge with a 117-ball 122 (14x4, 3x6) that set the platform for his team’s 333 for nine.

The in-form Teja, who had struck back-to-back ccenturies, continued his rich run with another well-crafted innings (69, 78b, 7x4).

Together with Suman, he added 151 in 156 balls for the opening wicket to provide a solid start before a string of useful cameos in the middle order saw Hyderabad post an intimidating total against an attack rendered somewhat weak in the absence of skipper Lakshmipathi Balaji.

Tamil Nadu, too, made the desired start with openers Aniruddha Srikkanth (77, 70b, 12x4, 2x6) and Abhinav Mukund (104, 109b, 6x4, 2x6) erecting 135 (122b) between them. After the dismissal of Srikkanth, however, Tamil Nadu’s chase lost direction despite Mukund’s valient effort. Teja emerged the unlikely hero with the ball, returning with figures of five for 45.      

Brief scores: At RSI ground: Hyderabad: 333/9 in 50 overs (T Suman 122, DB Ravi Teja 69, Ibrahim Khaleel 45, Hanuman Vihari 32, Ashish Reddy 32; KB Arun Karthik 2-9) bt Tamil Nadu: 297 all out in 47.2 overs (S Anirudha 77, Abhinav Mukund 104, K Shri Vasudeva Das 27, Suresh Kumar S 30; Anwar Khan 2-56, DB Ravi Teja 5-45). Hyderabad 4 pts, TN 0.

At Aditya Global Academy Ground: Goa: 250/8 in 50 overs (Reagan Pinto 65, Rohit Asnodkar 45, Robin D’Souza 44 n.o.; P Prashanth 3-58, Vinoo P 2-26) bt Kerala: 152 all out in 39.4 overs (Robert Fernandez 51, Anfal 44; SB Yadav 4-21, Amit Yadav 2-36, Ganeshraj Narvekar 2-23). Goa 5 pts, Kerala -1.