Sharath-Subhajit bow to Hong Kong pair in quarterfinals

The Indian doubles pair of Achanta Sharath Kamal and Subhajit Saha, who toppled the second-seeded Chinese pair on Monday, failed to show the same intensity and crashed out with a 0-3 loss in the quarterfinals of the Asian table tennis Championships here on Tuesday.

The Indian pair had beaten the local combo of Kin Wa Leong and Chi Pan Che 9-11, 11-8, 12-14, 11-2, 11-8 to move into the quarterfinals but they failed to recreate the same magic against Chu Yan Leung and Yuk Cheung of Hong Kong and lost 5-11, 8-11, 6-11 in less than 40 minutes.

It was a bad day for India as the other pair of A Amalraj and Sanil Shetty also lost 0-3 to the Chinese duo of Ma Long and Wang Hao in the pre-quarterfinals. Also in both sections of the singles events, Indian paddlers failed to make any progress.

In men’s singles, national champion Amalraj negotiated just two rounds and lost in the third round to Chu Yan Leong of Hong Kong 6-11, 5-11, 6-11, 4-11.
Soumyajit Ghosh bowed out in the first round to Zi Yang of Singapore 4-1, while another Singaporean Ning Gao accounted for Sharath Kamal in the third round when he beat the Indian 4-3 (8-11, 7-11, 12-10, 11-3, 11-9, 11-6, 11-6).

Sharath had the measure of Gao when he was up two games and led 3-2, but he let his opponent off the hook to lose the next two games.

Subhajit Saha also lost to Singapore’s Peng Tang 4-2 (9-11, 9-11, 11-7,11-7, 10-12, 10-12) in a gruelling third-round fight.

Among the women, Mousumi Paul gave a semblance of fight but lost to Cheng I-Ching 1-4 in the fourth round.

Earlier, Mousumi had beaten Iran’s Neda Sahasavari 4-3 (11-8, 2-11, 11-5, 4-11, 11-4, 9-11, 14-12).

Ankita Das too lost in the fourth round to Japan’s Kasumi Ishikawa 4-0 and Poulomi Ghatak in second round to Thai girl Nanthana Komwong 4-0.

K Shamini’s journey was till the third round when she lost to South Korean Eun Hee Lee 4-0 to complete the Indian rout.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0