Kodagu ZP polls for chief, deputy posts today

BJP-supported candidates victory to power almost imminent

The victory of Congress-rebel V M Vijaya and BJP’s Anitha Kanjithanda for the posts of president and vice president respectively is almost decided now. The election was scheduled to be held on September 4 but it was postponed to September 11 since there was state mourning following the death of Andhra Pradesh CM Y S Rajasekhara Reddy. Even before this, the election had been postponed once due to lack of quorum.

Though Congress sought High Court’s help to attain the ZP’s power seat once again in its last term, there was no use. Congress-supported candidate Abdul Lathif’s petition in the HC seeking stay against the ZP election, was rejected. Now, all ways are clear for the poll.

Abdul Lathif and Bhanumathi had filed their nominations from Congress for the posts of president and vice president posts respectively on August 24 itself. Meanwhile, Congress-rebel V M Vijaya and Anitha Kanjithanda from BJP had filed their nominations for the same posts. Elections will be held on the basis of those nominations themselves on Friday.

In the 29-member Zilla Panchayat, 15 are from Congress, 10 are from BJP, 3 are from JD(S) and the one member is Independent. S N Rajarao, H B Jayamma and Sanjay Jeevijaya who won with the Congress support are with BJP now. V M Vijaya has already been expelled from Congress for contesting from the BJP. Rajarao, Jayamma and Sanjay Jeevijaya have been suspended from the Congress.
Congress has given a last chance to these three members to support the party in the elections to be held on Friday. It has warned them of complaining to the Election Commission regarding their anti-party activities. In the meantime, H S Ashok who had been the ZP president in the first term with the Congress support, has been identified with BJP now.

In a surprising development, three women members of the BJP, who were disappointed with their party, have decided to support Congress-rebel V M Vijaya. They were particular that somebody from the party should be allowed to contest. However, now they have bowed before the party seniors.

JD(S) District President Shanthu Appaiah had issued a whip to the party members to support Congress candidates in the election scheduled to be held on August 24. But by September 4, the party State President and former CM H D Kumaraswamy had issued another whip to three JD(S) members asking them to vote for the BJP. However, no fresh whip has been issued now. By changing its stand twice, the party has pushed its members into confusion. Of the three JD(S) members, H B Ganesh has already identified with the BJP. In the meantime, V P Shashidhar who won from the JD(S) is actively involved with Congress and has vowed that no way he can support the BJP.  The only remaining JD(S) member is P B Manjula and it is interesting to know about her decision.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0