Cong rebel Vijaya elected Kodagu ZP president

Vijaya, who was supported by BJP, bagged 16 votes in the election

Power politics: The newly elected ZP President V M Jeevijaya and Vice President Kanjithanda Anitha celebrating their victory. DH Photo

BJP supported V M Vijaya won 16 votes and Anitha also won 16 votes. Congress candidates Abdul Lathif and Bhanumathi who contested for the post of ZP President and Vice President respectively managed to secure only 13 votes each. Mysore Regional Commissioner M V Jayanthi conducted the election. Congress candidates Sanjay Jeevijaya, H B Jayamma, S N Rajarao, JD(S) candidate H B Ganesh and Independent member H S Ashok cast vote for V M Vijaya and played a vital role in the victory of BJP supported candidate. V P Shashidhar and P B Manjula of JD(S) supported Congress candidate.

Those who exercised their franchise in favour of BJP are V M Vijaya, H B Jayamma, Sanjay Jeevijaya, S N Raja Rao, Manu Muthappa, Bovverianda Raghu Acchaiah, Aramanamada Changappa, Kolleta Dharmaja, P M Rajiv, B C Neelamma, Lokeshwari Gopal, K C Meenakumari, Susheela Lokaiah, Anitha Kanjithanda, H B Ganesh, H S Ashok.

Those who cast their vote for Congress are Abdul Lathif, Chitra Ramesh, Karun Kalaiah, Deerghakeshi Shivanna, K M Balakrishna, Bhanumathi, M K Nanjappa, Rajamma Rudraiah, A Lokeshkumar, Humayun Begum, Vrindababu, V P Shashidhar and P B Manjula.

The election process commenced based on the filing of nominations on August 24. As soon as the ZP special meeting commenced at 3 pm, Regional Commissioner M V Jayanthi took the signature of the members.

In the meantime, V P Shashidhar expressed anguish over BJP supported Congress rebel candidates for not sitting in their seat. He urged the postponing of the meeting as Standing Committee President and BJP supported Congress members have failed to sit on their seats. This created commotion among Congress and BJP members. However, Zilla Panchayat CEO urged the members to sit in their seats. Only H B Jayamma followed the direction. Amidst the confusion, the election process completed.

After scrutinising of the nomination, 10 minutes time was given to the members to withdraw nominatuion. As none of them withdrew their nomination, the election was conducted by asking members to raise their hands.
The term of the Zilla Panchayat will end on January 26, 2011. As the term of previous ZP President and Vice President ended in the month of May, Standing Committee President S N Raja Rao continued as the in-charge president. Owing to the lack of quorum, the election to the post of President and Vice President was postponed on August 24.

Owing to the untimely death of Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Dr Y S Rajashekar Reddy, the election which was scheduled to be held on September 4 was postponed again.

Assistant Election Officer Manjunath Nayak, DC K H Ashwathanarayana Gowda, ZP CEO Mirja Akbarulla and others were present.

‘Work towards development’
“I will work towards the integrated development of Kodagu district,” said newly elected ZP President V M Vijaya. Speaking to presspersons, he said with the support of MLAs and ZP members, Kodagu district will be developed. Priority will be given to the drinking water, road development and other basic infrastructures. The district will be made ‘hut free’ district by implementing various housing schemes. “Though I have come to power with the help of BJP, I am still Congress member,” he added.
Vice President Kanjithanda Anitha said a delegation will be taken to the government seeking additional funds for the overall development of the district.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0