Lokpal: Removal clause amended

Lokpal: Removal clause amended

The Lokpal Bill tabled in the Rajya Sabha last December amid acrimony has gone on some more modification with the Centre dropping the clause that empowers the citizens to remove the anti-corruption ombudsman.

The official amendment submitted to the Rajya Sabha on Monday stated that the Lokpal can only be removed through a petition bearing the signature of not less than 100 Members of Parliament.  "Supreme Court, on a reference being made to it by the President on a petition signed by at least one hundred Members of Parliament," read the amendment to Clause 37.
The earlier version of the Bill tabled at the Rajya Sabha last winter session stated that the President or any citizen can start proceedings for the removal of the Lokpal.

Another clause in the amendment mentioned that the Bill is applicable in a state only after the legislature passed a resolution of approval.

Instead of adopting the Bill, the state can also enact a law keeping the Lokayukta provision in the Bill as a model resolution, the amendment, moved by Minister of State for Personnel V Narayanaswamy, mentioned.  The earlier version had  made it necessary for the states to create the Lokayukta on the lines of the Lokpal at the Centre.

Shantaram Naik, Satyavrat Chaturvedi, Shadi Lal Batra (Cong), Arun Jaitley, Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Bhupendra Yadav (all BJP), K N Balagopal (CPI-M), Shivanand Tiwari (JD-U), Tiruchi Shiva (DMK), Satish Mishra (BSP), D Bandyopadhyay (TMC), Ramgopal Yadav (SP), D P Tripathi (NCP), V Maitreyan (AIADMK) and A K Ganguly (Nom) will be the part of the committee.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)