South Africa fancy their chances against New Zealand

The hosts lost by 55 runs to Sri Lanka yesterday but would take confidence from the fact that the Black Caps are coming into the event after a morale shattering Lankan tour.
The Kiwis lost their Test series in the Island nation and also failed to make the final of the tri-series, losing both the league matches.
New Zealand have a decent attack, bolstered by return of Shane Bond, but have to overcome their batting woes.
They mostly depend on the trio of Brendon McCullum, Jesse Ryder and Ross Taylor who have been far from impressive in the recent past.
Skipper Daniel Vettori has made contributions with the bat coming down the order but their main batters will have to make sure that it does not reach that stage that they are forced to look to the tail to rescue them.
Although South African bowlers struggled against Sri Lanka, they can fancy their chances against Kiwi batsmen.
Tillakaratne Dilshan plundered runs at will against them and made Dale Steyn, who had confidently avowed that no team can beat them, eat his words.

Steyn and Wayne Parnell though would look to take advantage of their poor form while skipper Smith can also rely on all-rounder Jaques Kallis to get some breakthrough.
Kiwi's fate also hinges on the performance of their bowlers, led by skipper Daniel Vettori.
The hosts can hardly afford another loss as it would almost spell their ouster from the event.
Their batting looks fine at the top with Smith and Kallis in good touch but experienced Mark Boucher and AB de Villiers have to contribute down the order.
JP Duminy has been quite a batting revelation in the Twenty20 format but he is yet to prove his worth in the 50-over format. He failed to open his account against Sri Lanka and would be keen to make his mark.
Teams (from):
New Zealand: Daniel Vettori (c), Shane Bond, Neil Broom, Ian Butler, Brendon Diamanti, Grant Elliott, Martin Guptill, Gareth Hopkins, Brendon McCullum, Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram, Jeetan Patel, Jesse Ryder, Ross Taylor, Daryl Tuffey.
South Africa: Graeme Smith (c), Johan Botha, Hashim Amla, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, Jean-Paul Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Albie Morkel, Makhaya Ntini, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Roelof van der Merwe.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0