Veteran Balu stamps his class

Former rally champion Arjun Balu of Tiger Sport stamped his class and authority on the Indian Touring Cars series with a stunning win at the third round of the 15th JK Tyre-FMSCI National Rally Championship here on Sunday.

Equally impressive was Mumbai’s Fahad Kutty of Game Over who completed a fine double to open up a big lead in the Indian Junior Touring Cars series with another eye-catching performance.

Balu, who had won the opening race on Saturday but was penalised 20 seconds for a jump start to finish second, was flawless in the second outing. He built on an early lead with a series of blinding sub-two minute laps that showcased his racing skills.  Finishing behind Balu were Vijaykumar Rajvirdhan of Prime Racing and Narayanaswamy Leelakrishnan of Big Foots Racing. 

The 29-year-old Kutty, starting eighth on the grid, cut through the field. Once ahead, he held off Diljith Shaji of Eram Group despite the rear bumper coming loose.

Kutty’s team-mate Kashit Kapadia, also from Mumbai, finished a distant third.
The results (all 10 laps): LGB Formula 4: Ashwin Sundar (Dark Don Racing) 22:00.182s, 1; Varun Nathwani (Rayo Racing) 22:06.269, 2; Sudarshana Rao (Rayo Racing) 22:07.393, 3.  Indian Junior Touring Cars: Fahad Kutty (Team Game Over) 22:39.788, 1; Diljith Shaji (Eram Group Sports Club) 22:40.761, 2; Kashit Kapadia (Team Game Over) 23:05.332, 3.

Indian Touring Cars (Super Saloon): Arjun Balu (Tiger Sport) 20:04.406s, 1; Vijaykumar Rajvirdhan (Prime Racing) 20:11.191, 2; N Leelakrishnan (Big Foots Racing) 20:15.347, 3.
Volkswagen Polo Cup R Cup (Race 1): Ameya Walavalkar (20:30.378) 1; Sailesh Bolisetti (20:32.018) 2; A Sandeep Kumar (20:39.259) 3. Race 2: Ajay Kini (20:40.108) 1; Mihir Dharkar (20:40.432) 2; Ameya Walavalkar (20:40.434) 3.

Comments (+)