Bangalorean bags young scientist award

Bangalorean bags young scientist award

Ramesh has been given the award for his significant contribution to the understanding of “Indian summer dynamics monsoon and variability.”

He works at the CSIR Centre for Mathematical Modelling and Computer Simulation, Bangalore.

Five other scientists also received the CSIR award. Debi Prasad Das of the Institute of Minerals and Materials Technology got the award in the Physical Sciences category and Srihari Pabbaraja of the Indian Institute of Chemical Technology won the prize for chemical sciences.

Nimisha Vedanti of National Geophysical Research Institute was awarded for her work that helped optimise production strategies in low-producing Indian oil fields.
Balaraman Madhan of Central Leather Research Institute won the prize for his work on tanning, while Fayaz Ahmad Malik of the Indian Institute of Integrative Medicine was honoured for development of anti-cancer herbal formulations.

Each award comprises a citation and cash prize of Rs 50,000. Each awardee is also entitled to a research grant of Rs 5 lakh per annum for a period of five years.
Indian Institute of Petroleum, Dehradun and Central Drug Research Institute, Lucknow received the CSIR Technology Awards for 2009.

At the function held here on Saturday, two schoolchildren from Karnataka also received the CSIR diamond jubilee invention award for schoolchildren for 2008.
Vishakh Hegde (Standard 11), V V S Sardar Patel Pre-University College, Basaveshwaranagar, Bangalore, received an award for his invention of a novel low-cost automatic warning system for high-speed winds.

V Pranav (Standard 9) of Atomic Energy Central School, RMP Colony, Yetwal, Mysore, bagged an award for inventing anti algal/fungal and anti-bacterial material.