Mysore lad Lohitt Urs bags top honours

Mysore lad Lohitt Urs bags top honours

 Local lad Lohitt Urs from Team R3A hogged the limelight by emerging the fastest driver in the third round of the Indian National Autocross championship conducted by Mysore Automotive Racing Club (MARC) at the grounds adjacent to the Lalith Mahal Palace here on Sunday.

He overtook Chethan Shivram of Bangalore by nearly three seconds and went on to win the first place in the Class V up to 3000 CC in his Mitsubishi Cedia.

While city lass Niveditha Harsha emerged second in the ladies class, Syed Salman Ahmed cruised to the third place in the Class I and V categories. With 87 cars participating in the seven classes conducted by MARC, a huge enthusiastic crowd gathered at the venue to watch the racers in action. The qualifying rounds were held in the morning and the finals were conducted in the afternoon and evening sessions.

The prizes to the winners in different categories were given away by Naveen of Karnataka Automotive Sports, hockey player Len Aiyappa, Kumar and P N R Satish from Coimbatore and Anil Sadanand of MARC, Mysore.

Final results: Class I (up to 850 cc): 1. Baban Khan (Bangalore- 2:19.48s); 2. Ashok Mudigere (2:22.99s- Mudigere); 3. Syed Salman Ahmed (Mysore- 2:25.69s).
Class II: 850cc to 1250cc: 1. Suchindra S P (Bangalore- 2:16.13s); 2. Ranjith Ballal (Bangalore- 2.17:59s); 3. Lokesh Gowda (Bangalore- 2:18.21s).

Class III: 1250 cc to 1400 cc: 1. Adithya K H (Chickmaglur- 2:12.17s); 2. B.S.Rudresh (Chickmaglur- 2:13.56s); 3. Ranjith Ballal (Bangalore- 2:13.98s).
Class IV: Over 1400 cc to 1600 cc1. B Den Thimmiah (Kodagu- 2:08.56s); 2. Chethan Shivram (Bangalore- 2:12.09s); 3. Sridhar Urs (Bangalore- 2:12.38s).

Class V: Up to 3000cc: 1. Lohitt Urs (Team R3A-Mysore- 2:01.10s); 2. Chethan Shivram (Bangalore- 2:03.01s); 3. Syed Salman Ahmed (Mysore- 2:04.08s).
Class VI: 4x4 Gypsy Class: 1. Ranjith Ballal (Bangalore-2:14.59s); 2. Philip Thomas (Kerala- 2;16.70s); 3. Shafeeq UR Rehman (Chickamaglur- 2:17.92s).

Class VII: Ladies Class: 1. Ashika (Bangalore-Team R3A- 2:22.28s); 2. Niveditha Harsha (Mysore- 2:35.29s); 3. Swapna (Sakleshpur- Team R3A-2:37.25s).

Liked the story?

  • Happy
  • Amused
  • Sad
  • Frustrated
  • Angry

Thanks for Rating !

Dear Reader,

Welcome to our new site! We would appreciate it if you could send us your feedback about our site to ​

Thanks for your support!