Special buses for women on 11 routes

Special buses for women on 11 routes

Ladies first

In a move aimed at providing safe and secure commuting to female passengers, chief minister Sheila Dikshit on Thursday flagged off DTC’s ladies special buses from Delhi Secretariat.

The buses will presently ply on 11 routes which witness high women footfalls.

Dikshit said the special buses will provide safe and comfortable journey to ladies. “We have begun with 11 routes but the number of buses under the service will be enhanced in accordance with the requirement of commuters in due course of time,” said Dikshit.

Women staff

Transport minister Ramakant Goswami said even the conductors in the buses will be women.

“The buses will be operated from 11 points in the morning and evening. The DTC officials have been directed to disseminate the information on time table of routes operated from different parts of Delhi,” said Goswami.

Select routes

The DTC has identified the routes after a survey. The routes will connect places like Connaught Place, Nehru Places, Rajender Place, Bhikaji Cama Place, Karol Bagh, ITO, Delhi Airport, Ashram, Lajpat Nagar, AIIMS, Dhaula Kuan, Janakpuri, Preet Vihar, Delhi Secretariat, India Gate, JLN stadium, Paharganj and Karampura.

According to information, of the 11 routes, services on three routes - Uttam Nagar Terminal to Sarai Kale Khan ISBT, Shahadra to R K Puram and Madhu Vihar to CGO Complex will  start at 8:15 am. On the rest of the routes, the bus service will fluctuate between 8:20 am and 9 am and the downward journey from 5:30 pm to 5:40 pm.

“A dedicated service for female passengers will put an end to all the complaints of eve-teasing and other uncomfortable issues that woman passengers face in the regular buses,” said Goswami.