15 graft cases filed against J-K politicians, ministers: Govt

15 graft cases filed against J-K politicians, ministers: Govt

At least 15 cases of corruption or misuse of official position have been registered against state politicians including four sitting ministers before the Jammu and Kashmir State Accountability Commission, the state government told the Legislative Assembly today.

The ministers, who have cases pending before the anti-corruption commission, are Abdul Rahim Rather (Finance), Taj Mohiuddin (Public Health Engineering), Peerzada Mohammad Sayeed (Public Enterprises) and Manohar Lal Sharma (Cooperatives).

Former Ministers and legislators facing charges of corruption include Abdul Gaffar Sofi (PDP), Hakim Mohammad Yasin (PDF), Mangat Ram Sharma, Suman Lata Bhagat, Gulchain Singh Charak and Khem Lata Wakhloo (all Congress).

Some of the politicians have more than one case pending before the commission. They include Sayeed, Wakhloo and Charak.

Proceedings in six of the cases have been stayed by the State High Court after the accused persons filed writ petitions.

While one case has been reserved for judgement by the Commission, the other cases are at various stages of inquiry.