Nagashree new president of Chamarajanagar ZP

G Nagashree of Madapura and P Mahadevappa of Terakanambi have been elected as president and vice president of Chamarajanagar zilla panchayat for the second term recently.

In the election conducted for president and vice president at KDP auditorium, among 21 seats, Congress and BJP have 15 and six seats respectively. Highest seat of Congress  ensured its victory. The president’s seat was reserved for general (women), vice president was reserved for general category.

Regional commissioner M V Jayanthi who is also returning officer announced that as no one from the opposition party had filed nominations, the duo of Congress were elected unanimously.

Newly elected president and vice president were greeted by CEO M R Somashekarappa, deputy commissioner N Jayaram, MLA H S Mahadevaprasad, ex-president K Rajeshwari, K Eshwar and others.

Nagashree said that she would primarily concentrate on solving drinking water problems which is severe in the district due to drought. Mahadevappa said he would support the developmental works taken up by the authority.

Members of winning party celebrated the victory by bursting crackers on the Zilla Panchayat premises.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0