'JD(S) block committees to be reconstituted'

'JD(S) block committees to be reconstituted'

District JD(S) unit President M B Sadashiva said that all the block-level and division-level committees will be reconstituted in the district shortly.

The existing committees have been dissolved.

Speaking to presspersons here on Monday, he said that a committee with former minister K Amarnath Shetty, leaders Nagaraj Shetty, Haider Parthipady, Aboobakar Natekal, Susheel Noronha, M G Hegde and JD(S) district president has been set to reconstitute the block level committees.

Once the block level committees are reconstituted, a district-level committee will be reconstituted.

He said the JD(S) convention will be held at Town Hall in Mangalore on October 29, wherein a large number of leaders from other political parties will join the JD(S).

Shetty not to contest

The newly appointed JD(S) Vice-President Nagaraj Shetty said that he will not contest any election in future.

“I will remain loyal to the JD(S) and work towards strengthening the party at the grass-roots level.” “I want to work towards the welfare of Dalits, minority community members and poor.

We will work to ensure that the JD(S) will come back to power in the State. We want H D Kumaraswamy to be the Chief Minister,” he said.

“While reconstituting the block committees, we will ensure that the party workers who have toiled hard for strengthening the party in the coastal district are not neglected,” said Shetty.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox