Panel to scrutinise allotment of 'G' category sites

Panel to scrutinise allotment of 'G' category sites

The Karnataka government has constituted a three-member panel, comprising former High Court judges, to scrutinise  allotment of ‘G’ category sites by the Bangalore Development Authority (BDA).

Justice Padmaraj, Justice Rangavittalachar and former chief secretary P B Mahishi will head the panel. The panel will look into the allotment of ‘G’ category sites by the Authority between 2006 and 2007.

Following a Public Interest Litigation by a City-based advocate S Vasudeva, the Division Bench comprising Justice K L Manjunath and Justice Suri Appa Rao on August 25, 2012, directed the Karnataka government to form a committee to scrutinise allotment of sites under ‘G’ category.

Noting that the State refused to act on the directive, Vasudeva on October 10 issued a show-cause notice to the Chief Secretary, Secretary, the Urban Development Department and the BDA commissioner, reminding them of the order.

He also warned them of filing a contempt of court petition for failing to act on the Court orders. Taking note of this, the State government has appointed the three-member committee to look into the matter.

The High Court, on August 25, 2012, held that the allotment of sites allotted under ‘G category was illegal, arbitrary and in violation of Article 14 of the Constitution of India.
It directed the State government and the BDA to submit all applications by each of the respondents (allottees) for scrutiny by the committee.

It directed the State government to pay Rs two lakh as honorarium every month with infrastructure and documents to the panel. It should submit its report in three months, the court said. 

Vasudeva had challenged the BDA’s allotment of sites under the ‘G’ category to 250 persons between February 2, 2006 and October 8, 2007.

He contended that these sites were allotted without receiving any applications from the allottees while neglecting thousands of applicants waiting for allotment of sites.

S M Krishna allotted ‘G’ category sites to 234 persons, Dharam Singh to 76 persons, H D Kumaraswamy to 238 persons and B S Yeddyurappa to 132 persons during their tenure as chief minister, he added.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox