Cycle polo: Mysore records win

 The host Mysore won the State-level Cycle Polo tournament in sub-junior, Junior and senior categories here on Monday.

The second and last day of the tournament, organised by Dasara adventure sports sub-committee in association with Karnataka state Cycle Polo federation ended with the Mysore team’s dominancy.

In Sub-Juniors category (Under-14), Mysore beat Belgaum by 2-1 as the brothers Chinmayi Gowda and Chinthan Gowda scored a goal each in the final to lift the cup. Chanda Saheb scored for Belgaum.

In the finals of Girls sub-junior category Mysore trounced Belgaum by 4-0 goals. Neha scored three goals and Priyanka scored a goal to win the trophy. In junior boys category (Under-18) Belagaum ‘A’ defeated Belgaum ‘B’ team by 6-0 goals to reach finals.

 In another league match Mysore got a walkover against Dharwad. In the thrilling final match Mysore team defeated Belgaum ‘A’ by 4-2 goals. Lokesh single handedly scored all the goals for Mysore and Swapnil and Kamble Scored 2 goals for Belgaum’A’.

In Junior girls division Mysore team beat Belgaum by 6-0 and Neha’s magical mallate again scored  five goals and Priyanka scored one goal to win the final.

In women’s seniors category Mysore thrashed Belgaum by 4-0 goals. Priyanka scored 3 goals and Neha scored one goal. In men seniors Mysore defeated Belgaum by 5-0 goals.Basavesh scored 3 goals and Keerti 2 goals to lift the cup.

Karnataka State Cycle Polo Federation has utilised the tournament as a platform to encourage  and promote Cycle Polo sport in Karnataka. Bagalkot and Bijapur teams stayed as observers in the tournament but Bijapur team competed in Juniors category.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0