Hundreds run for clean Mysore

More than 2,000 participate in half marathon, 10k and 5k

Hundreds run for clean Mysore

Hordes of runners gathered at the Balarama Gate of the Amba Vilas Palace here on Sunday to participate in the ‘Celebration Mysore Half Marathon and 10k race’.

With more than 2,000 participants gathering at the venue, the half marathon received an overwhelming response. While Nagesh Pawar and Neera Katwal won the Celebration Half Marathon, Nanjundappa and Akshatha Pai won the 10k race.

The half marathon was organised jointly by Life is Calling Sports and Hutti Gold Mines.
Starting off at Balarama Gate of Amba Vilas Palace, the runners passed through D Devaraja Urs road, Hotel Metropole, Hunsur road, Chaduranga road, Sri Jayachamarajendra College of Engineering (SJCE), All India Institute of Speech and Hearing (AIISH), Radhakrishna Avenue, Ramaswamy Circle, Chamaraja Double road, Hardinge circle and ended their run at the starting point.

As part of the 150th anniversary celebrations of Mysore City Corporation (MCC), a five kilometre race was organised in order to improve awareness among people about Mysore as a ‘clean city’.

The five kilometre race also witnessed the highest participation with more than 1,300 taking part. MUDA commissioner C G Betsurmath also participated in the race.

The half marathon also witnessed participation of foreigners and senior citizens. Runners from Hyderabad, Bangalore and various other parts of the state took part in the race.
The limelight was hogged by 82-year-old Shankar Narayan, who is an international walker and has garnered 114 medals. He said being a vegetarian was the secret of his health. Arjuna awardee Reeth Abraham expressed happiness over the participation of a huge number of runners in the race.

Mayor M C Rajeshwari, Hutti Gold Mines managing director Mallappa and DCP Bheemaiah flagged of the races.


Half marathon (21 km)

Men: Nagesh Pawar (first), Raja (second), Sehin Prabhu (third).

Women: Neera Katwal (first), Karel Marwood (second), Amrutha Mitra (third)
Seniors (45 years and above): S Srinath

10 km running race

Men: Nanjundappa (first), Y M Vishwanath (second), P S Vinod (third).

Women: Akshatha Pai (first), Deepa Suresh (second), Vidya Vasudev (third).

Seniors: Mark Anderson (men’s), Saroja (women’s).

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0