KSP storm into last-four stage

KSP storm into last-four stage

Holders join BSNL in semifinals

Holders Karnataka State Police (KSP) put it past ITI Sports Club 25-23, 25-17, 20-25, 25-19 in a Group C second phase match to storm into the semifinal of the 19th State ‘A’ Division volleyball championship at the Sree Kanteerava stadium on Monday.

With this victory, KSP finish their league engagements with six points from three matches to become the second team to qualify from the group after BSNL. KSP stamped their domination on ITI right from the beginning with the in-form Nagesh and Naveen Kumar in fine fettle. The former executed some telling smashes and mixed them up with drop shots. 

Leading 16-10 at one stage, KSP were pulled back a little by ITI to reduce the margin to 22-21. But KSP wrapped the first set 25-23. ITI regrouped in the second set and were in the hunt until 5-5. Cops then opened up a five point lead at 10-5 with Girish and Ravindra piercing the rival defence with ease during the period. KSP raced to a 19-10 lead and eventually claiming it 25-17.

ITI showed some spunk in the third set. Both teams went neck-and-neck and were tied at 17-all before ITI nudged ahead with a three-point lead at 20-17. ITI’s Sharath Shetty came up with a couple of powerful smashes.

KSP shaved a few points off to get the game close at 21-19 but ITI stood firm in their attack and defence to grab the set 25-20. The fourth set followed a similar pattern as the third but the result was different this time. Although the set was tied at 16-16, KSP went ahead after that to seal the fourth set 25-19.

In a Group D match, South Western Railway registered 22-25, 25-15, 25-20, 23-25, 15-13 win over Sports Hostel.

Results: ‘A’ Division: Group C: KSP bt ITI Sports Club 25-23, 25-17, 20-25, 25-19. Group D: SWR bt Sports Hostel 22-25, 25-15, 25-20, 23-25, 15-13.