Manpreet to lead India Jr hockey team in Sultan of Johar Cup

Manpreet Singh will lead the 18-member Indian junior men's hockey team in the second Sultan of Johar Cup to be played in Malaysia from November 11 to 18.

Kothajit Singh has been named the vice-captain of the side. India will play their opening game against Australia on November 11, followed by matches against Germany, Pakistan, New Zealand and hosts Malaysia.

Trials to select the Indian team were conducted at SAI Centre, Netaji Subash Institute of Sports in Patiala from November 25 to 27 in the presence of Hockey India selectors Col Balbir Singh, B P Govinda and Thoiba Singh as well as government observer Harbinder Singh and coach Baljeet Singh Saini.


Goalkeepers: Keshav Dutt and Sushant Tirkey

Defenders: Amit Rohidas, Sukhmanjit Singh and Gagandeep Singh.

Midfielders: Manpreet Singh (capt), Jarmanpreet Singh, Kothajit Singh (vice-capt), Surender Kumar and Harjit Singh.

Forwards: P L Thimmanna, Satbir Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Prabhdeep Singh, Talwinder Singh, Amon Mirash Tirkey, Gurmail Singh and Mandeep Singh.

Standbyes: Naveen Kumar (Goalkeeper), Sampath Kumar Malyaram (Defender), Rockey Lohchab (Midfielder), Jatinder Singh (Midfielder), Malak Singh (Forward), Naveen Antil (Forward) and Imran Khan (Forward).

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0