BSNL ward off ASC for title

Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited (BS-NL) produced a power-packed performance to defeat Army Service Corps (ASC) 25-20, 25-23, 23-25, 25-18 and clinch the 19th State ‘A’ Division volleyball championship at the Sree Kanteerava Indoor stadium on Thursday.

The match was played in front of a majority ASC supporters, but it was BSNL who were the showstealers. In the first set, honours were shared by both teams until 10-all with Sujit Acharya and Anil Bernard collecting points for BSNL.

Divya Prasad and Saneesh were the contributors for ASC. Once they moved ahead with a three-point lead at 13-10, BSNL didn’t look back, grabbing the initiative with both hands to close in on the set. Ravi Kumar and Anoop D’Costa joined the party with the duo crashing some great smashes as BSNL took the first set at 25-20. 

BSNL built up a healthy 16-12 lead riding on Ravi’s sizzling form as he smashed his way past the ASC defence. Saneesh then came to ASC’s rescue with a flurry of point-winning smashes as the Army side tied scores at 21-21. It was anybody’s set at that stage but BSNL held fort to pocket the set 25-23.

ASC started well in the third set racking up a seven-point lead at 13-6, and thereafter to hold onto the lead and win the set 25-23. BSNL had the fourth set in control with a comfortable 11-5 lead when a bit of controversy erupted. ASC coach Aman was agitated after a line call went against his team. With BSNL leading 14-7, ASC’s Prasad served well before the first referee Martin Das whistled even as the latter was involved in an arguement with Aman. Das called over Prasad and handed him a yellow card for the breach of rule, resulting in an extra point for BSNL.

Aman called his team off the court in protest against the decision before he was persuaded by officials to get his players back on court. When the game resumed, BSNL had little trouble wrapping up the match at 25-18. In the third-place playoff match, KSP beat MEG 25-22, 25-21, 25-20.

Results: Final: BSNL bt ASC 25-20, 25-23, 23-25, 25-18.
Third-place playoff: KSP bt MEG 25-22, 25-21, 25-20.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)