EC cracks whip in Gujarat

In an attempt to send out a strong signal to the bureaucrats and police officers in poll-bound Gujarat, the Election Commission on Monday transferred five IPS officers and 4 district collectors who were perceived to be close to the Modi administration.

The IPS officers who have been transferred include A K Sharma, joint commissioner of police, Ahmedabad crime branch, Himanshu Shukla, deputy commissioner of police, Ahmedabad crime branch, H K Patel, SP Jamnagar, M S Bharada, SP Patan and N D Solanki, DCP, Surat . 

The five district collectors shifted are from Dahod, Tapi, Sabarkantha and Banaskantha. The new collectors appointed by the EC include Shahmima Hussain in Sabarkantha, Thennarasan in Banaskantha, Rakesh Shanker in Dahod and Shalini Agarwal in Tapi.The Congress state unit had complained that Sharma and Shukla were taping mobile phones of its leaders and tracking their movements as well.

While Sharma was appointed JCP crime branch a few month before the code of conduct was imposed Shukla had been in the crime branch since 2010, after the CBI had arrested IPS officer Abhay Chudasma in the Sohrabuddin fake encounter case.

Incidentally, Shukla was a member of the SIT which recently gave clean chit to Chief Minister Narendra Modi in riot cases.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)