Surendra stamps class

Surendra stamps class

Surendra timed 13:59.94 to demolish his rivals in the 25-lap event in the morning. Sandeep of Railways came in second place, clocking 14:34.26.

On a day of lacklustre performances, Bimin K P caught the eye, going past five metres in men’s pole vault for the gold medal. H M Jyothi’s defeat in the women’s 100 was a surprise result, with the AP athlete timing 11.73 seconds to trail behind Sharada Narayan, the gold medal winner in 11.71 seconds.

Seema Antil won the women’s discus, though with a below par throw of 57.53 metres. Harwant Kaur (57.02) and Krishna Poonia (55.82) also failed to impress.

Men: 10000M: Surendra Singh (Services) 13:59.94, 1; Sandeep (Railways) 14:34.26, 2; Sandeep Karan Singh (Services) 14:34.51, 3.

Pole vault: Bimin K P (Railways) 5.00 metres, 1; Gajanan Upadhyay (Railways) 4.70, 2; Sunder Singh (Police) 4.60, 3.

Long jump: Maha Singh (Railways) 7.79 metres, 1; Mohd Ibrar (Uttar Pradesh) 7.61, 2; Hari Krishnan (Services) 7.59, 3.

Women: 100M: Sharada Narayan (Railways) 11.71 seconds, 1; H M Jyothi (Andhra Pradesh) 11.73, 2; Priya P K (Kerala) 12.11, 3.

5000M: Kavita Raut (Maharashtra) 16:13.17, 1; Jhuma Khatun (Railways) 17:01.80, 2; Lalita Babar (Railways) 17:25.08, 3.

Discus throw: Seema Antil (Haryana) 57.53 metres, 1; Harwant Kaur (Punjab) 57.02, 2; Krishna Poonia (Railways) 55.82, 3.