Dempo drub Bagan, move up to second

Extending their unbeaten home run, Dempo scored an impressive 3-0 win over 10-man Mohun Bagan in the 8th round of the I-League to move to the second place in the points table here on Wednesday.

Dempo cored through Joaquim Abranches (40th), Ryuji Sueoka (44th) and Godwin Franco (70th) at the Nehru Stadium in Fatorda.

The Goan outfit now have 19 points from 8 matches, one point behind league leaders East Bengal. While Mohun Bagan remained in the fifth place with 11 points from 8 matches.

In the 40th minute, Sameer Naik played the ball to substitute Romeo Fernandes who worked his way on the right and sent a perfect cross which defender Meharajuddin Wadoo failed to anticipate. Abranches who was in line made no mistake in shooting the ball into the net.

 Dempo earned a penalty in the 44th minute when defender Nirmal Chettri pulled down Peter Carvalho inside the box. Ryuji Suioka converted the  Franco completed the rout, essaying a right footer that sailed at the far corner of the net giving no chance to keeper Paul.

Narrow win for Churchill

Churchill Brothers struck one each in both halves before being reduced to 10 men for a convincing 2-1 win over Prayag United SC at the Yuba Bharati Krirangan.

Israil Gurung (26th) and Bikramjeet Singh (70th) scored for Churchill. Prayag pulled one back through Bello Rasaq’s 89th-minute strike.

The win put Churchill Brothers (18) in the third spot.

Lajong down Arrows
A double strike from in-form Sushil Kumar Singh and another one from Friday Gbeneme helped hosts Shillong Lajong FC outplay Pailan Arrows 3-1 at the JN Stadium.
Sushil Kumar (3rd, 49th), Friday (52nd) netted the goals for Lajong while Arrows reduced the deficit through Dhanpal Ganeshan in the 65th.

Mumbai score
Evans Quao struck the winner in Mumbai FC’s 1-0 win over ONGC at Pune. Mumbai now have 10 points and ONGC remain at five points.

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)