Sueoka fires Dempo to top of standings

Goals from Rohan Ricketts and Ryuji Sueoka helped Dempo overcome Salgaocar 2-1 and regain the top position after their ninth round I-League match at the Nehru Stadium here on Saturday.

Dempo now have 22 points, one ahead of East Bengal, who were held goaless by  Shillong Lajong FC.

Ricketts put the holders ahead just on the 29th minute before Sean Rooney equalised for Salgaocar in the 59th. Japanese import Ryuji Sueoka then slammed home the winner six minutes from time.

A Randeep Singh pass from the box hit Ricketts on the top of the box. The striker controlled the ball, positioned himself and sent a low angular shot that beat keeper Karanjit Singh.

Salgaocar’s attacking play paid off as they equalised. Substitute Milagres Gonsalves worked his way on the right flank and sent a measured cross into the box for Sean Rooney, who leaped high and headed the ball into the net.

In the dying minutes, Sueoka climbed over Augustine Fernandes to head the ball into the net off Ricketts’ cross.

East Bengal held

Toppers East Bengal had to be satisfied with a goalless draw with hosts Lajong.
The draw helped Lajong move a spot up at number eight.

Arrows drub ONGC

Pailan Arrows returned to winning ways with a 4-1 demolition of a 10-man ONGC in Kolkata.

Dipak Devrani (ninth), Holicharan Narzary (26th), Milan Singh (57th) and Alwyn George (84th) fired in a goal each to notch up the biggest win for the AIFF developmental outfit.
Eric Brown got the lone goal for ONGC in the 21st.

Arrows tallied 14 points while ONGC remained in the relegation zone with five points after nine rounds.

Goalkeeper Prosenjit Ghosh became ONGC’s third player this season to be red-carded when he made a serious foul on Arrows’ forward Narzary in the 54th minute as referee Arun Pillai of SCCB sent him off.

Liked the story?

  • Happy
  • Amused
  • Sad
  • Frustrated
  • Angry

Thanks for Rating !

Dear Reader,

Welcome to our new site! We would appreciate it if you could send us your feedback about our site to ​

Thanks for your support!