Prakasha guides India to third win

 Prakasha Jayaramaiah’s jaw-dropping century propelled India to their third-straight win in the inaugural T20 World Cup for the Blind at the Aditya Global Sports Ground in Nelamangala on Wednesday.

Up against a lacklustre West Indian team, India, after electing to field, reduced the visitors for a mere 158 for seven in the allotted 20 overs before Prakasha (125 n.o.) stole the show once again to carry the team to 162 for two with eight overs to spare.

After Ravi Siddhappa scalped couple of wickets and the fielders put on an impressive display, Prakasha opened the innings with Venkatesha and he ripped through West Indies’ bowling.

The 33-year-old Channapatna player scored 125 runs off 49 balls with 27 fours. He score his second century of the tournament with the score on 111 in the eighth over. His first century came in the tournament opener against Australia where he came up with a quickfire 173. West Indies managed to grab a couple of wickets towards the end but with Prakasha in his elements, Indians cruised home.

Meanwhile, Pakistan continued their winning spree as the two-time 40-over World Champions registered a facile 10-wicket win over Australia in their rain truncated affair. After the match was reduced to nine overs-a-side, Australia managed to score a mere 60 for six. Pak reached the target in just two overs.

The match between South Africa and Bangladesh was called off due to wet out-field at the Central College grounds.

Brief scores: West Indies: 158/7 in 20 overs (R R Rattan 48 n.o., Lo-Shane Myles 40; Ravi S 2-17) lt to India: 162/2 in 12 overs (Prakasha Jayaramaiah 125); Sri Lanka: 202/6 in 20 overs (C Deshapriya 69, Chandana Kumara 35, Ravindra 35) beat England: 189/6 in 20 overs (Matt Dean 68, Luke Sugg 54); Australia: 60/6 in 9 overs lt to Pakistan: 63/0 in 2 overs (Ali Murtaza 26).

Comments (+)