It's BJP all the way in City

It's BJP all the way in City

Ananth Kumar, Chandre Gowda and Mohan emerge victorious

The results have come as a morale booster to the BJP, which recently decided to hold elections to Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) at the earliest.

With 17 MLAs and three MPs of Bangalore in its kitty, the ‘saffron’ will definitely be in an advantageous position in the local body polls. 

In 2004 elections also, the BJP had won both Bangalore North and Bangalore South seats (before delimitation).

Despite winning all the three seats, the BJP could not hold its thumbs up and celebrate. For the party has put up a poor show at the national level.

Also, the victory margin of all three BJP winners this time is not very huge: The party winners won with around 30,000 to 60,000 margin against their nearest rivals.
In fact, the BJP was not very confident of winning any of the seats in the State capital.

High-voltage campaign

Ananth Kumar, who had won for four consecutive times, had become jittery fighting against Congress’ Krishna Byregowda. Young leader, Krishna Byregowda, who is a Congress MLA from Byatarayanapura, had given sleepless nights to Ananth Kumar through the campaign. After a high-voltage campaign, Ananth Kumar secured 4,37,953 votes against 4,00,341 of Krishna Byregowda.

In Bangalore North, Congress leader C K Jaffer Sharief tasted defeat for the second consecutive time (he had lost in 2004). The former union minister had had represented Bangalore North (before the contours of the constituency were re-drawn) for seven times - between 1977 and 1999.

Though BJP candidate Chandre Gowda is also a senior leader, he joined the BJP at the last minute after quitting the Congress during elections. Chandre Gowda secured 4,52,929 votes against 3,92,230 votes by Jaffer Sharief.

In Bangalore Central, former police officer and super cop H T Sangliana of the Congress bit the bust. He crossed over to the Congress from the BJP before the elections. In fact, Sangliana used to claim that he won in 2004 under the BJP ticket because of his personal image. But the Saturday results have disproved it.JD-S’ Zameer Ahmed Khan, it appears, played a spoilsport by dividing the minority votes. P C Mohan secured 3,40,162 votes, Sangliana 3,04, 944 votes and Zameer Ahmed polled 1,62,552 votes.

Other prominent losers are Capt Gopinath, who contested as an Independent, Kannada Chalavali Vatal Nagaraj (both from Bangalore South).