Chandhok re-elected FMSCI chief

The Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (FMSCI) unanimously re-elected Vicky Chandhok as president at its AGM here on Tuesday while Vijay Mallya will continue as the chairman and Bharat Raj as vice-president.

For the first time, the FMSCI will have its annual awards ceremony for 2012 and while organisers have their own awards ceremony, the FMSCI has decided to play host for all winners of the National Championships at the end of January 2013.

Besides the successful running of the second Formula One Indian Grand Prix, 286 other events under the FMSCI banner were conducted, according to an official press release.
The FMSCI also confirmed that Round 2 of the 2013 World Superbike Championship will run in India in March 2013 at the Buddh International Circuit that will get its final FIM inspection on January 19 and 20, 2013.

Chandhok said: “With constant interaction from members nationwide, sporting commission members and members of the Council, motorsport in India is certainly on its continuous upward trend.”

The FIM sanctioned $50,000 to improve the riding skills of Indian SX/ MX riders, said the release.

The following clubs were elected to the Council for the forthcoming year: MMSC (Madras Motor Sports Club), CASC (Coimbatore Auto Sports Club), KMSC (Karnataka Motor Sports Club), Sportstrek (Pune), MSCC (Motorsports Club of Chikmaglur), HMSA (Himalayan Motor Sports Association), Spitfire Motorsports Pvt Ltd (Coimbatore) and WISA (Western India Sports Association).

Comments (+)