Cong, JD(S) locked in direct fight in CB Pur

Cong, JD(S) locked in direct fight in CB Pur

The advent of two new regional parties - BSR Congress of former health minister B Sriramulu and Karnataka Janata Party of former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa - is expected to give a twist to the electoral scene in the constituency this time.

Congress and JD(S) have a direct fight in the Chikkaballapur Assembly constituency. Both the parties have launched their poll exercise by conducting taluk and hobli level conventions of workers. The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party, which has no voter support in the constituency too has conducted conventions.

JD(S) and Congress have two ticket aspirants each while the BJP has only one. The aspirants from BSR Congress and KJP are not yet known.

Chikkaballapur is known to be the Congress bastion, but the scene changed after it was carved out as a district from Kolar during the tenure of H D Kumaraswamy as chief minister in 2007. JD(S) won in the first election from the new district and in 2008 K P Bachchegowda of JD(S) trounced Ashwathanarayana Reddy of Congress.

A direct fight between the two parties is expected in the forthcoming Assembly polls too. While sitting MLA Bachchegowda is expected to contest from the constituency, K V Nagaraj, the director of Karnataka Milk Union is also expecting a JD(S) ticket. While it has almost become certain that District Congress Committee president M Anjanappa will contest as Congress candidate, Dr K Sudhakar is also in the fray.

G H Nagaraj, who tasted defeat as an Independent in the last election is now attempting to contest as a BJP candidate. The details of candidates from KJP and BSR Congress are not known.

Bachchegowda claims that the development works he has initiated in the constituency will come to his rescue at the poll. Anjinappa has been promising free ration and other assurances.

Dr K Sudhakar, who has been hogging the limelight by extending assistance to mass marriages, distributing free notebooks, bus passes etc, is said to contest as an Independent in case Congress denies him ticket. G S Nagaraj, who has his fans association has been drawing crowds by organising blood donation camps etc.
The ultimate choice rests with the intelligent voter.