EC seeks details of KJP office-bearers

The Election Commission (EC) has sought information from KJP on the proceedings of the appointment of its office-bearers.

“Though we have received information on the appointment of KJP office-bearers, we have sought additional details to ascertain that the new office-bearers were elected as per the constitution and rules/regulations of the party,” sources in the EC told Deccan Herald.

The EC also rejected the letter written by Padmanabha Prasanna Kumar, founder of the KJP, demanding that he consider the Main Founder President as, “there is no provision for appointing or nominating Main Founder President as per the constitution of the party”.

The KJP was formed by him and it was registered with the EC in April 2011. Subsequently he resigned from the presidentship and former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa took over as party president. Yeddyurappa also submitted a revised list of office-bearers of the party to the EC. Meanwhile, Prasanna Kumar wrote a letter to the EC saying though he resigned from the presidentship, proceedings of the appointment of office-bearers did not take place as per the constitution of the party. He claimed that he should be treated as “Main Founder President.”

Yeddyurappa told reporters in Bangalore, Prasanna Kumar had assured him that he would withdraw his letter to the EC. “It was only a technical issue. It is a closed chapter now,” the former chief minister said.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0