US honour for former Isro chairman U R Rao

US honour for former Isro chairman U R Rao

Distinguished space scientist and former Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) chairman U R Rao will be inducted into the 'Satellite Hall of Fame' in Washington March 19 in recognition of his contribution to space technology.

Since 1987, the SSPI Hall of Fame has been recognising the immense contribution of visionaries transforming life on planet earth for the better through satellite technology.

 An Indian Space Research Organisation statement said the members of the Hall of Fame are recognised pioneers in communications, satellite-related aerospace scientific research or development and delivery of applications for business, institutions and government via satellite.

As a honoured member of the Hall of Fame, Rao joins over 40 other illustrious scientists, including Sir Arthur C. Clarke, James Van Allen, William Pritchard, Harold Rosen, Fredric d'Allest, Takayashi Yoshida, Peter Jackson and Olof Lundberg.

Rao is currently chairman of the governing council of the space agency's Physical Research Laboratory  at Ahmedabad.