Jaffer's century gives Mumbai edge

Last Updated 27 January 2013, 18:37 IST

Wasim Jaffer on Sunday broke the record of maximum centuries in Ranji Trophy and helped Mumbai gain a healthy 139-run lead against Saurashtra in the final at the Wankhede Stadium here. 

Jaffer (132) struck his 32rd hundred of the premier domestic event as Mumbai ended day two at 287 for six after dismissing Saurashtra  for 148 Saturday. The experienced opener surpassed Ajay Sharma’s tally of 31 centuries to achieve the feat.

Mumbai now lead by 139 runs. The hosts, resuming at 19 for no loss, started the day well with Jaffer and Kaustubh Pawar (21) sharing 75 runs for the first wicket.
Aditya Tare’s (3) dismissal in the 41st over brought Sachin Tendulkar to the crease.

The little master could not contribute much to the team’s cause after getting run out for 22.

On a day when his team-mate Jaffer entered the record books, Tendulkar  too became part of an unwanted record as it was the first time the Mumbaikar was run out in the Ranji Trophy.

Coming into this match Tendulkar has been good touch in the domestic season where he played three matches prior to this game while hammering a hundred at the same venue against Railways.

The batting maestro began in fine fashion, and some of the shots indicated another classic from a man who is the top run-getter in both Tests and one-dayers.

But a yes-no situation with Jaffer ended his tenure, and Mumbai were in need of a partnership at that time.

Abhishek Nayar (26) then stitched a brief partnership with Jaffer before falling to Kamlesh Makvana. But their 52-run alliance for the fourth wicket helped Mumbai gain substantial ground over Saurashtra, who were bundled out for 148 in their first innings.

Jaffer finally departed, adjudged leg before wicket off left-arm spinner Dharmendrasinh Jadeja. Hiken Shah (41) was batting alongside Dhawal Kulkarni (18) at close of play. 


SAURASHTRA (I Innings): 148 all out in 75.3 overs.

MUMBAI (I Innings; O/n: 19/0): Wasim Jaffer lbw D Jadeja 132, Kaustubh Pawar c & b Trivedi 21, Aditya Tare c Vasavada b Sanandiya 3, Sachin Tendulkar (run out) 22, Abhishek Nayar c Unadkat b Makvana 26, Hiken Shah (not out) 41, Ajit Agarkar lbw Jadeja 2, Dhawal Kulkarni (not out) 18. Extras (LB-7, W-2, NB-13)22. Total (for 6 wkts, 94 overs) 287.

Fall of wickets: 1-75, 2-89, 3-157, 4-209, 5-233, 6-237.

Bowling: Jaydev Unadkat 24-3-49-0, Siddarth Trivedi 19-4-37-1, Saurya Sanandiya 18-5-51-1, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 19-0-96-2, Kamlesh Makvana 14-1-47-1.

(Published 27 January 2013, 12:32 IST)

Follow us on