Arjun wins rapid chess crown

Bangalore’s Arjun Bharat clinched the Karnataka State Open Rapid Chess title at the Sri Rama Mandir, Ballal Circle here on Sunday.

Bharat, a 13-year-old student of The International School Bangalore (TISB), emerged the winner on a better tie-break score after he was tied on eight points with Vijendra YG of Mysore.

While Vijendra came second, Vinayak Kulkarni of Bangalore took the third spot with 7.5 points.

Balkishan A of Bangalore finished fourth and Mysore’s Manasa HR ended fifth on tie-break scores after being level on seven points with Prachura PP, Ojas Kulkarni and Nikhil R Umesh.

Important results (Final round): Balkishan A (Blr, 7) lt to Vijendra YG (Mys, 8); CM Arjun Bharat (Blr, 8) bt Amogha HA (Mys, 6.5); Sanjit Saha (Mys, 6.5) drew with Vinayak Kulkarni (Blr, 7.5); Prachura PP (Blr, 7) bt Tarun R (Blr, 6); Nikhil R Umesh (Bha, 7) bt Bharat Vijay (Blr, 6); Shantharam K (Chm, 6.5) drew with Upendra K (Cha, 6.5); Ojas Kulkarni (Blr, 7) bt Darshan VPS (Man, 6); Manasa HR (Mys, 7) bt Naveen Ranganath (Mys, 6); Amitesh Kumar Sinha (Blr, 6.5) bt Manjunath D Naik (Kar, 6); Sridhar R (Shm, 6.5) bt Ravi Kiran (Blr, 5.5); Abhinandan (Mys, 5.5) lt to Ravish A (Mys, 6.5); Shreyas J (Blr, 6) bt Adithya S (Mys, 5.5); Panindra TS (Tum, 6) bt Abhimanyu Sangwan (Blr, 5); Abhinav Bhatt (Blr, 5) lt to Yashaskara Jois KR (Mys, 6); Biddappa MM (Mys, 5) lt to Sharan R Setty (Mys, 6).

Liked the story?

  • Happy
  • Amused
  • Sad
  • Frustrated
  • Angry

Thanks for Rating !

Dear Reader,

Welcome to our new site! We would appreciate it if you could send us your feedback about our site to ​

Thanks for your support!