SAI 'C' grab title in style

SAI 'C' grab title in style

Sports Authority of India ‘C’ defeated Coorg Hockey Association 5-1 to emerge champions in the State ‘B’ Division hockey league at the KSHA Stadium on Wednesday.

SAI ‘C’ tallied seven points in the final phase involving four teams to top the table.

They opened the scoring through Prithvi in the 13th minute while Mohammad Raheel doubled the lead in the 24th minute.

Bidappa struck the third goal three minutes later while Prithvi returned to action in the 44th minute.

However, SAI didn’t reduce the frequency or force of their sorties, persisting for another goal, and their efforts bore fruits soon.

Kanjappa completed the tally in the 58th minute. The lone goal for Coorg was scored by Ashwin in the 20th minute.

In another match, Belgaum District Hockey Association and Young Star, Hubli played out a goalless draw. Young Star finished second in the league ahead of Belgaum HC.

Final standings: SAI ‘C’ (7 points) 1; Young Star, Hubli (5) 2; Belgaum H C (4) 3; Coorg Hockey Association (0) 4.