Australia 126/2 at lunch

Australia 126/2 at lunch

Australia 126/2 at lunch

Electing to bat, Australia were 126 for two in their first innings at lunch on the opening day of the first cricket Test against India here today.

Among all the bowlers used by the home team this morning, Ashwin was the only one to trouble the Aussies, who were aggressive in their running between the wickets.

Warner, who was nursing a thumb injury before the match, showed no discomfort and took on the stroke-making role with his 58 coming off 88 deliveries, including half a dozen fours so far.

The left-hander was tad lucky early on when Virender Sehwag dropped him at slips off Ashwin while he was on 18. Next up, Dhoni missed a difficult stumping off the same bowler a few overs later.

However, Ashwin got his first wicket when Cowan was out to a pre-determined shot, stumped by Dhoni. Cowan' 29 came off 45 balls and included four fours and a six.

Two overs later, Ashwin dismissed Philip Hughes when the batsman hit an inside edge onto the leg-stump. He made 6 of 15 balls.
For Australia, all-rounder Moises Henriques made his Test debut.


Chennai, Feb 22 (PTI) Scoreboard at lunch on the opening day of the first cricket Test between India and Australia here today.
Australia 1st innings:
Ed Cowan        st Dhoni b Ashwin     29
David Warner               batting    58
Phil Hughes              b Ashwin      6
Shane Watson               batting    28
Extras (LB-5)                          5
Total  (2 wickets; 34 overs)         126
Fall of wickets: 1-64, 2-72.
Bowling: Bhuvneshwar Kumar 4-1-15-0, Ishant Sharma 3-1-17-0, Harbhajan Singh 10-1-42-0, R Ashwin 11-2-30-2, Ravindra Jadeja 6-2-17-0.


Australia: Ed Cowan, David Warner, Phil Hughes, Shane Watson, Michael Clarke (captain), Matthew Wade (wicketkeeper), Moises Henriques, James Pattinson, Mitchell Starc, Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon. 12th man: Glenn Maxwell

India: Virender Sehwag, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain/wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Harbhajan Singh, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma