West Bengal by-poll: Cong, TMC, Left get one seat each

Congress, Trinamool Congress and the Left Front won one seat each in the crucial by-election to three Assembly constituencies in West Bengal on Thursday.

While Trinamool Congress Minister Krishnendu Narayan Choudhury won the English Bazar constituency in Malda district defeating his rival Kaushik Mishra of CPM by a margin of 20,452 votes, Congress took revenge by defeating another Trinamool Congress Minister Humayun Kabir at Rejinagar in Murshidabad district. Congress candidate Rabi Alam Chowdhury won the Rejinagar seat defeating Left Front candidate Sirajul Islam Mandal by a margin of 11,722 votes and Kabir came third.

Elections to English Bazar and Rejinagar seats were necessitated following resignation of Congress MLAs Krishnendu Choudhury and Humayun Kabir after their switch-over to the TMC. LF candidate Dipak Chatterjee won from Nalhati in Birbhum district over Congress’
Abdur Rahman by a margin of 7,742 votes and TMC's Biplab Ojha ame out third.

The Nalhati Assembly seat fell vacant after its MLA Abhijit Mukherjee, son of President Pranab Mukherjee, quit his seat to fight the Lok Sabha by-election from Jangipur.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0