Humiliating defeat for Team Varthur in Kolar

JD(S) strengthens base; Congress in second place, BJP strong only in Malur

Members of the JD(S) are all smiles after the results for the municipal polls were declared on Monday.

Of the total 162 seats in the two city municipalities and the four town municipalities in the district, the JD(S) has won 57 seats. The Congress comes second with 45 seats, while the BJP has had to make do with 21 seats only. As many as 39 Independents have won, especially in Kolar Gold Fields, for the Robertsonpet CMC.

The candidates supported in full fervour by District In-charge Minister Varthur Prakash, however, took a major blow.


The JD(S) has gotten stronger in the City, winning 17 seats as against mere five last time. In contrast, the Varthur faction has had a slip, losing five seats. The Congress power too has gotten halved, coming down from 16 to eight this time.


The only municipality where the BJP power remains still has been Malur. Yet, as against the 23 seats in the last elections, the party has managed to win merely 12, although with a majority.


The Congress has gotten stronger in the town this elections. From 11 seats, the party has gotten four more wards, a total of 15 seats, which has given it clear chances of coming to power in the municipality. The other party that has strengthened itself in Bangarpet has been the JD(S), which has risen from two seats to five.

Kolar Gold Fields

Independents are the victors at the Robertsonpet CMC this season. From 13 members, the CMC has gotten five more Independents, with a total of 18 candidates winning this time. The BJP still has six seats, while both, the Congress and the JD(S) have taken a blow.


The JD(S) power has fallen a bit in the municipality, from 16 to 11. In contrast, the Congress has won not only 11 seats as against the six seats last time, but also chances of gaining power in the municipality. The BJP, however, has lost even the one seat it had last time.


The JD(S) has slipped by six seats this time- from 16 seats, it has come down to 10. The chances of a majority, however, is still with the party. The Congress too has come down to three seats, while the BJP has reduced from four seats to just one seat.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0