13 Rajya seats to be vacated following LS poll results

13 Rajya seats to be vacated following LS poll results

Maximum number of seats are likely to be vacated by BJP whose six MPs from the Upper House have won the Lok Sabha elections.

Leader of the party in Rajya Sabha Jaswant Singh has won from Darjeeling, Murli Manohar Joshi from Varanasi, Sushma Swaraj from Vidisha in Madhya Pradesh, Yashwant Sinha from Hazaribag in Jharkhand, Dileep Singh Judev from Bilaspur in Chattisgarh and Narendra Singh Tomar from Muraina in Madhya Pradesh.

Two Rajya Sabha members of the Congress have also made it to the Lok Sabha.
Union Minister for Power Sushil Kumar Shinde has won the Solapur seat and Delhi state unit President J P Agrawal won from North-East constituency of the national capital.

NCP leader Supriya Sule won the Baramati seat and Union Aviation Minister Praful Patel clinched the Gondiya Lok Sabha seat in Maharashtra.

Former chief minister of Jammu and Kashmir Farooq Abdullah has also been elected to Lok Sabha from Srinagar.
Janta Dal (United) has also vacated a seat in the Upper House as its chief Sharad Yadav has won from Madhepura and Digvijay Singh emerged victorious from Banka seat as independent.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)