15 Punjab Cong legislators booked

15 Punjab Cong legislators booked

Nine suspended for Budget session

Fifteen Punjab Congress MLAs were booked on Thursday on charges of assaulting a public servant during an alleged police raid on legislature party office on Wednesday while nine of them were suspended for the rest of the budget session for unparliamentary behaviour by the Assembly Speaker.

R S Ghuman, SSP, said the police had booked the MLAs under various sections of the IPC. While six of the MLAs were named in the FIR, rest were unnamed.

Speaker Charanjit Singh Atwal informed the House that the Chandigarh Police had agreed to register a criminal case against six Congress MLAs, who were allegedly involved in an assault on a police constable Jaipal Singh outside the Congress legislature party office on the Assembly premises.

The six Congress MLAs, who were booked by name after a complaint by Sukhwant Singh Gill, commandant, Police Armed Police Mohali are Gurkirat Singh Kotli, Kuljit Singh Nagra, Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa, Jagmohan Singh Kang, Rana Gurjit Singh and Balbir Singh Sidhu.

The complaint was forwarded by the Assembly secretary to the Chandigarh Police for registration of an FIR.

The Speaker said he had summoned R P Upadhayay, inspector general of Chandigarh Police to his chamber, where he agreed to register an FIR.

The speaker’s action came a day after the Assembly witnessed ugly scenes.

The opposition Congress members throwed papers, books and documents at the Chair and manhandled the marshals alleging their legislature party office was raided by police for forcible eviction of police assault victim from Tarn Taran, who had allegedly entered House without entry pass.

The Speaker on Thursday took exception to his chair being occupied by one of the Congress MLAs after the adjournment and termed it an insult to the Chair.

Pandemonium prevailed in the House as Congress members stalled the proceedings after the Speaker’s first order on suspension of nine MLAs for a day forcing him to adjourn the House for one hour.

Congress legislature party leader Sunil Kumar Jakhar protested the suspension of the Congress MLAs from the House and left the Assembly along with the suspended MLAs.