EC to decide dates for Karnataka Assembly polls

The Election Commission will announce the dates for Assembly elections in Karnataka today.
Though the tenure of the current 224-member Karnataka Assembly expires on June 3, the elections are likely to be held by April-end in a phased manner, sources said.

The announcement will come after a meeting of top election officials with Union Home Secretary R K Singh today on the availability of security forces for the smooth conduct of polls in the southern state.

Chief Election Commissioner V S Sampath and Election Commissioners H S Brahma and S N A Zaidi have also held meetings with the Home Secretary along and other officials.

Election officials have already held consultations with state authorities and met various political parties in the state during their visit to Karnataka.

Karnataka is currently ruled by BJP which is struggling ever since former Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa left the party and formed his own outfit.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0