Two Maharashtra MLAs surrender in cop-bashing case

Remanded to police custody until March 22

Two Maharashtra MLAs surrender in  cop-bashing case

Two suspended members of the Maharashtra Assembly, who had beaten up a traffic cop and Assistant Sub-Inspector (ASI) Sachin Suryavanshi on Tuesday at the Vidhan Bhavan, surrendered to police early on Thursday.

The duo --Kshitij Thakur of Bahujan Vikas Aghadi (BVA) and Ram Kadam of Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS)— who went on hiding after being suspended by the Assembly speaker on Wednesday, presented themselves at the Crime Branch Unit-I at Mumbai Police headquarters on Thursday and were later remanded by a court to police custody until March 22. Police sources said three other MLAs who had also been suspended in connection with the assault on the policemen will soon be arrested.

Meanwhile, legislators in the house on Thursday demanded action against crime branch police officials who had entered Vidhan Bhavan without authorised passes.

The assault on the cop inside Vidhan Bhavan premises stunned the entire nation. So ferocious was the attack, in which 15 MLAs participated, that the injured cop had to be admitted to the nearby government hospital.

Marine Drive Police Station on Wednesday registered an FIR against Thakur, Kadam and 14 others for attacking ASI Suryvanshi, who is attached to the Worli Traffic Police division inside Vidhan Bhavan.

Top police officials, led by State Director General of Police and City Police Commissioner, met the Chief Minister seeking his intervention and action against the guilty.

The ASI’s move to fine Thakur for over-speeding on Bandra-Worli Sea-Link bridge on Monday angered the legislators.Thakur moved a privilege motion asking explanation from the traffic police department. When the ASI, who was summoned to the legislature, waited outside the Deputy Chairman of the Legislature Council, Thakur, Kadam and other MLAs beat up the cop.

The attack sparked of a furore and on Wednesday, Rajan Salvi (Shiv Sena), Jaykumar Rawal (BJP) and Pradeep Jaiswal (Independent) were suspended by the Speaker along with Thakur and Kadam.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0