BSY exit robs BJP of candidate material in Shimoga

BSY exit robs BJP of candidate material  in Shimoga

The exit of former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa from the BJP has created a dearth of potential candidates for the saffron party in the district, considered its strong forte.

The party’s struggle to find ‘able’ candidates for the five Assembly constituencies out of seven in the district is evidence to its pathetic state. The BJP had bagged five and the remaining two were won by Congress in the 2008 elections. Though the BJP is yet to announce the list of candidates, Deputy Chief Minister K S Eshwarappa and Mysore Paper Mills chairman Araga Jnanendra are likely to contest from Shimoga City and Teerthahalli constituencies, respectively, this time also. But the party leaders are struggling to find strong candidates in the remaining five constituencies. This is likely to help Congress and KJP.


It is represented by Belur Gopalakrishna (BJP). But, he is not on good terms with the State leaders of the party. He is said to be sulking at not being made a minister. Neither is he keen to remain in the BJP nor do the party leaders want to field him from Sagar this time. He is knocking the doors of the Congress and the JD(S). But, both the parties are not keen to welcome him. The BJP is looking for an able candidate in Sagar this time.


It was represented by Yeddyurappa the last time. He will contest the polls from Shikaripur as a KJP candidate this time. So, the BJP has become an ‘orphan’ here this time. The party is contemplating to field former chairman of Malnad Area Development Board Padmanabh Bhat, a one-time close associate of Yeddyurappa, from Shikaripur. But, Bhat is not keen to face the electoral battle. 


The BJP faces a new challenge as H Halappa, who was elected on a BJP ticket from here last time, has embraced the KJP.  The party is looking for an able candidate who can take advantage of the possible triangular fight between the KJP, Congress and JD(S).


The BJP is yet to strengthen its base in Bhadravathi, represented by B K Sangamesh (Congress). Bhadravathi always witnesses a duel between B K Sangamesh and M J Appaji Gowda (JD-S). It may be no different this time too. The BJP has to field a candidate here only for the sake of prestige.   

Shimoga Rural

It is represented by K G Kumaraswamy (BJP). Though he is keen to face the polls again, the party workers are not happy with him. So, the leaders are in a dilemma whether or not to field him once again.


It is represented Kimmane Ratnakar (Congress). The BJP has decided to field Araga Jnanendra from this constituency. Ratnakar  had won the last elections against Jnanendra by a thin margin.

The BJP has a strong base in the constituency and this is likely to help Jnanendra this

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0