Renjith bags gold in triple jump

Renjith bags gold in triple jump

National rec­ord holder Renjith Maheswary bagged the gold in the men’s triple jump in the season-opening Indian Grand Prix first leg here on Sunday.

Renjith, representing Railways, came up with an effort of 16.67 metres to win the event. His national record stands at 17.07M.

Arpinder Singh of ONGC was second with an effort of 15.92M while Saurabh of Uttar Pradesh (15.76M) won the bronze.

London Olympian Om Prakash Karhana, representing ONGC, won the gold in men’s shot put with a below-par performance of 18.12M while Bala Murugan or Railways won the men’s 100M dash.

Railways sprinter Merlin K Joseph shocked her teammate and pre-race favourite Asha Roy to win the women’s 100M sprint. Merlin timed a personal best of 11.95 seconds as against Roy’s 11.98 seconds.

Due to bad light, 5000M races were cancelled. The second leg of the Indian Grand Prix will also be held here on April 6.

Men: 100M: Balamurugan (Railways) 10.80 seconds, 1; Shameer Mon (Services) 10.86, 2; Al Ameen (Tamil Nadu) 10.97, 3.

400M: Arokia Rajiv (Army) 47.55 seconds, 1; S K Mortaja (Bengal) 47.83, 2; Kunhimohammed P (Army) 47.93, 3.

800M: Manjit Singh (Haryana) 1:50.1, 1; Pranjal Gogoi (SAI) 1:50.4, 2; Girish Ramachandran (CRPF) 1:50.8, 3.

400M hurdles: Jithin Paul (Railways) 52.48 seconds, 1; Bino Aqutto (Tamil Nadu) 53.64, 3.
Long jump: M Arshad (Air Force) 7.36 metres, 1; R S Bijil (Army) 7.08, 2; Raneesh V B (Kerala) 6.63, 3.

Triple jump: Renjith Maheswary (Railways) 16.67 metres, 1; Arpinder Singh (ONGC) 15.92, 2; Saurabh (UP) 15.76, 3.

Shot put: Om Prakash (ONGC) 18.12 metres, 1; Jasdeep Singh (Punjab) 17.48, 2; Satyender Singh (Railways) 17.20, 3.

Javelin throw: Devender Singh (Army) 74.55 metres, 1; Samarjit Singh (ONGC) 73.67, 2; Dinesh Kumar (Rajasthan) 68.96, 3.
Women: 100M: Merlin Joseph (Railways) 11.95 seconds, 1; Asha Roy (Railways) 11.98, 2; Sini S (Kerala Police) 12.13, 3.

400M: Anju Thomas (Kerala Police) 55.03 seconds, 1; Papathi (Tamil Nadu) 55.71, 2; Priyanka Mondal (Bengal) 55.92, 3.

800M: Gomathi M (Tamil Nadu) 2:11.53, 1; Fulan Khatun (Bengal) 2:14.27, 3.
Triple jump: Amitha Baby (Railways) 12.47 metres, 1; Neena V (Railways) 12.41, 2; Mereena Joseph (Police) 12.39, 3.